Canisteo Mayor Officially Sworn In

May 1, 2017

CANISTEO, NY – Canisteo village mayor Monica Recktenwald was officially sworn into office Monday night. Recktenwald, a write in candidate, narrowly defeated Grant Seaman by one vote in the March elections. Her term runs for two years.

The village will be looking at replacing the curbs around the downtown parking lot in the near future. Tree growth has pushed up parts of the curb and although nothing has been put aside in this year’s budget, it will soon be addressed.

Also there has been a request to put a “No Outlet” or “Dead End” sign at the end of Glenn Avenue. “It really isn’t a problem for normal vehicles such as mine,” said Recktenwald, “but when big trucks pull down the road they have problems turning around.” A new sign would only cost the village around $120 plus DPW labor. A public hearing will be held June 5th at 6:50pm and board member Grant Seaman urged all residents of Glenn Avenue to attend if they want to address the issue.

There will be a private oath of office swearing in ceremony for police Chief Kyle Amidon on May 16th starting 4:30pm at the Nicklebrew restaurant.

And finally board approved the following Fire Commissioners:
Jeffrey Chase Chief
David Woodworth Asst. Chief
Brent Bixby 2nd Asst. Chief
Gerry Ross, Butch Woodard, Tyler Murphy, Anthony Westbrook, and Eric Stanford as Captains.