Corning And Surrounding Areas In A “Yellow Zone”

October 21, 2020

STEUBEN COUNTY, NY – Steuben County Manager Jack Wheeler tells WLEA News that it’s not all of Steuben County that’s in a Covid-19 Yellow zone, only the south eastern towns in the county. Areas included are: Corning, Erwin, and parts of Addison and parts of Campbell.

Update: 6:45pm: Here is an updated list:
• City of Corning
• Town of Addison
• Town of Campbell
• Town of Caton
• Town of Corning
• Town of Erwin
• Town of Hornby
• Town of Lindley
• Town of Tuscarora
• Village of Addison
• Village of Painted Post
• Village of Riverside
• Village of South Corning

Steuben County Public Health nurse Darlene Smith says, the Hornell, Canisteo, Arkport areas are not in the Covid 19 Yellow zone.

The county public health nurse also says that the public needs to keep up with social distancing, wearing masks and not gather in large unnecessary groups.

From the governor’s website, an explanation of what being in a Yellow Zone is:
Yellow Zone — Precautionary Zone

Houses of Worship: 50 percent capacity
Mass Gatherings: 25 people maximum, indoor and outdoor
Businesses: Open
Dining: Indoor and outdoor dining, 4 person maximum per table
Schools: Open with mandatory weekly testing of students and teachers/staff for in-person settings. The New York State Department of Health will establish a percentage of teachers and students/staff who need to be tested by Friday.