County Names Van Etten, As Chairman Of Steuben Co. Legislature

January 3, 2020

BATH, NY – Steuben County Legislator Scott Van Etten, R-Caton was named Chairman of the county Legislature Thursday by unanimous consent. VanEtten was recently re-elected to a fourth and final term as legislator and served on the county Legislature’s Administration and Finance committees (the Finance Committee Chairman for the past four years). VanEtten also chairs the Steuben County Land Bank Corporation.

A graduate of Corning Community College, Rochester Institute of Technology and Syracuse University, VanEtten was elected to the Town of Caton Board while attending CCC and later became its youngest town supervisor. He retired from Corning Inc. in 2015, after nearly 13 years, notably working as a worldwide sales manager. VanEtten noted significant changes in the county leadership during the past 12 years, including changeovers in legislators, key department heads and the departure of former county Legislator Joe Hauryski, R-Campbell, after nine years as chair. “So where do we head now?” VanEtten said, in his first address to the Steuben board. “Court room renovations are getting under way… and we believe that the state Office of Court Administration will be satisfied as it relates to the operation of county courts. Economic development in our county remains a high priority.”

The Steuben Legislature selected county Legislator Robin Lattimer, R-Bath as its deputy chair. Steuben lawmakers also welcomed two new members, elected in November 2019. Campbell Town Supervisor Jeff Horton, R-Campbell will now represent the towns of Bradford, Campbell and Wayne on the county Legislature, while newly elected county Legislator Paul VanCaeseele, R-Hornell will represent Hornell, on the board. VanCaeseele is the City of Hornell Republican Chairman. A fulltime employee of Transit Air in Hornell, he owns Stellar Entertainment.