Election Night Results – 2013

November 6, 2013


Statewide Proposition 1, the Casino proposition, was passed last night.

In Steuben County, the Charter has been approved:
Yes 8,343 59.80%
No 5,609 40.20%

Steuben County Lawmakers Gary Swackhamer (R, Hornell)and Dan Farrand (R, Rathbone) were re-elected, and Eric Booth (R, Canisteo) also won. All three ran in unopposed races.

Fremont Town Supervisor Tom Flansburg was defeated by Republican Robert Osborn.
Hartsville Town Supervisor Mike Muhleisen defeated David McEvoy.

The Steuben County Board of Elections is reporting that in Cohocton, Town Supervisor Jack Zigenfus has been re-elected. Zigenfus got 414 votes, with 54% of the vote, defeating Chris Velez (R), who got 350 votes (45%).

In Hornell, Mayor Shawn Hogan (D) won:

Shawn D. Hogan 748 votes – 63.07%
Joseph J. Duffy – 428 votes – 36.09%
Total number of votes: 1,186

Danny McManus (R) is the unofficial winner over incumbent Alderman Larry Bacon (D):
McManus 121 votes – 69%
Bacon – 56 votes – 31 %

Norm McCumiskey (R) has a close lead over Rich Argentieri (D)
McCumiskey: 83 votes – 51%
Argentieri – 78 – 49%

In other Hornell races, we’re told that Randy Harkenrider won his race unopposed, as did 8th Ward Republican Alderman Jim Bassage.

Hornellsville update: Danny Broughton (R) and Ron Kennell (R) both won, defeating Rob Mauro (D).

Kennell: 374 votes (37.55%)
Broughton: 338 votes (33.94%)
Mauro: 284 votes (28.51%)

Also in Hornellsville, interim tax collector Sharon Ames was the winner:
Sharon Ames – 482 votes (91.46%)
Angela Dickinson 45 votes (8.54%)

Jason Emo won unopposed, with 524 votes in the highway superintendent’s race.

Dan Farrand (R, Rathbone) is the winner of the Town of Rathbone Supervisor’s race:
Dan Farrand – 131 votes – 58 %
Carla Barney – 72 votes – 32%
Mary Catherine Cole – 20 votes – 8%

All results at this point, are unofficial.