Covid 19 Travel List Update

September 8, 2020

oday, Governor Andrew Cuomo announced the addition of four states to the travel advisory list – Delaware, Maryland, Ohio and West Virginia – which meet the metrics to qualify for New York State’s COVID-19 travel advisory. Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands have been removed. 
The advisory requires individuals who have traveled to New York from areas with significant community spread to quarantine for 14 days. The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.
The full, updated travel advisory list is below:
  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
People caught violating the advisory risk civil penalties ranging from $2,000 to $10,000.
There are exceptions to the travel advisory for essential businesses. Guidance on travel to these states for essential employees can be found at